Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

9 Pages«<45678>»
Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
felipe  
#101 Posted : Wednesday, February 24, 2016 12:33:38 PM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 323
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Thanks for the advice, I turned the voltage to max looking to increase to 5V, be sure I never do again...
felipe  
#102 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2016 11:50:31 AM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 323
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Russ, Brian?
Russ White  
#103 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2016 12:44:21 PM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,979
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
Time to test individual things. It sounds like you probably damaged a component with over-voltage.

Start by removing any source and Legato/IVY to test the DAC independently.

We are only testing supplies/regs here so don't connect anything to the DAC outputs or inputs. There should be nothing on it but Tridents and AVCC.

When you apply power (5.25V max) (limited to say 600ma) to VD record the output voltages of each trident and the AVCC

Russ White  
#104 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2016 1:16:12 PM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,979
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
Also I notice you have things wired to your EXT-IO header. Make absolutely sure you have no shorts there - especially since it looks like you may have directly soldered wires to the header around pin 1,3.

A short from pins 1,2 to pins 3,4 would short circuit the output the reg that powers the micro controller and external bits.

Edited by user Thursday, February 25, 2016 1:22:29 PM(UTC)  | Reason: typo

felipe  
#105 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2016 1:23:22 PM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 323
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Russ all DIP switches to ON?
Russ White  
#106 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2016 1:28:38 PM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,979
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
Does not matter in this context
felipe  
#107 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2016 1:30:12 PM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 323
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
I left conneceted Sidecar & S/PDIF_4?
Russ White  
#108 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2016 1:30:45 PM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,979
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
Before you do anything else disconnect the things from EXT-IO and make absolutely sure you have no short from the VDD_EXT pins and the GND pins(or any other pin for that matter)
Russ White  
#109 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2016 1:31:17 PM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,979
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
Originally Posted by: felipe Go to Quoted Post
I left conneceted Sidecar & S/PDIF_4?


No - you leave nothing connected to the DAC at all.
felipe  
#110 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2016 1:45:10 PM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 323
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
VD 5.2VDC max 0.426mA, lab psu dont left me give more current to BIII
felipe  
#111 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2016 1:49:38 PM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 323
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Russ White Go to Quoted Post
Before you do anything else disconnect the things from EXT-IO and make absolutely sure you have no short from the VDD_EXT pins and the GND pins(or any other pin for that matter)


No shorts pin 1 with 3-4 and 2 with 3-4
Russ White  
#112 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2016 1:50:55 PM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,979
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
Do you mean 426ma? If so that's good. Check the voltage out at each trident and AVCC output.
felipe  
#113 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2016 2:08:06 PM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 323
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
VDD XO 3.21
VDD 1.15
DVCC 3.21
Russ White  
#114 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2016 2:08:52 PM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,979
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
And AVCC?
felipe  
#115 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2016 2:09:28 PM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 323
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
AVCC 3.41 both sides
Russ White  
#116 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2016 2:12:58 PM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,979
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
Perfect - it appears the DAc itself and the REGs are fine.

Now to test the other things.

Power the sidecar by itself with 5.2V - not connected to anything - note much current it needs.

Do the same for the SPDIF4 (all by itself with nothing else connected)
Russ White  
#117 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2016 2:16:00 PM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,979
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
Make sure you check sidecar both with the relay switch engaged and disengaged. With the relays powered it should consume a fair bit of current.
felipe  
#118 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2016 2:27:53 PM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 323
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
To engage the Sidecar I need to powering form the switch right?
Russ White  
#119 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2016 2:34:25 PM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,979
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
You just need stick a short piece of wire from VD on the sidecar to B

wire VD to 5.2V and GND from your supply.
felipe  
#120 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2016 2:41:01 PM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 323
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
69mA Sidecar
Rss Feed  Atom Feed
Users browsing this topic
9 Pages«<45678>»
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.