Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

9 Pages123>»
Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
felipe  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, April 8, 2015 1:03:21 PM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 317
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Hey guys,

I have DC offset when playing DSD files, measurements done playing DSD files:

Left channel -1.6VDC Right channel -0.8VDC

TIA for support
Felipe
avr300  
#2 Posted : Wednesday, April 8, 2015 1:08:36 PM(UTC)
avr300

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 6/17/2008(UTC)
Posts: 921
Denmark

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 70 time(s) in 69 post(s)
Please check DC when NOT playing.
felipe  
#3 Posted : Wednesday, April 8, 2015 4:19:24 PM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 317
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
It's the samed'oh!
felipe  
#4 Posted : Wednesday, April 8, 2015 4:31:28 PM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 317
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
I have disconnected physically the RCA between Legato and the Intact Audio AVC (autoformer volume control) and there is no DC output at the Legato outputEh?
avr300  
#5 Posted : Wednesday, April 8, 2015 5:55:00 PM(UTC)
avr300

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 6/17/2008(UTC)
Posts: 921
Denmark

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 70 time(s) in 69 post(s)
Seems like the Legato doesn't like the "aformer".

Do you have access to a scope. Perhaps the aformer makes the output of the legato oscillate? Only way to tell is to measure with a scope.

You could try to disconnect whatever comes AFTER the aformer, to see if this changes the situation.

Which DAC is in front of the Legato?
Have you considered using a Volumite, either build in (Buffalo III) or separate (Buffalo II)
felipe  
#6 Posted : Wednesday, April 8, 2015 8:20:27 PM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 317
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Yes I have scope, tomorrow I will measure if the AVC makes oscillate the Legato.

BIII

I have Volumite but I don't use because I don't like the sound.
felipe  
#7 Posted : Thursday, April 9, 2015 10:53:08 AM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 317
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
I used the AVC as passive and 300 Ohm headphone to avoid grid & OPT tx and playing DSD files I still have Left channel -1.6VDC Right channel -0.8VDC, another curiosity is when I stop playing DSD files still remain the DC offset Left channel -1.6VDC Right channel -0.8VDC, only goes to zero when I play PCM files, another test done is changing the volume setting don't change the amount of DC offset so DC offset isn't related to volume setting.

I contacted Dave Slage (AVC manufacturer) because I'm sure the problem isn't of Legato stuff.
felipe  
#8 Posted : Thursday, April 9, 2015 5:41:35 PM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 317
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
From the explaination in wikipeadia DSD files the appears to be much more more modulation of the signal and may be this is being rectified ?
avr300  
#9 Posted : Thursday, April 9, 2015 5:54:59 PM(UTC)
avr300

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 6/17/2008(UTC)
Posts: 921
Denmark

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 70 time(s) in 69 post(s)
?

Have you tried:

Quote:

You could try to disconnect whatever comes AFTER the aformer, to see if this changes the situation.
felipe  
#10 Posted : Friday, April 10, 2015 12:47:46 PM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 317
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Situation without nothing connected after the AVC isn't changedr: left channel -6VDC right channel -5VDC

Edited by user Friday, April 10, 2015 12:48:35 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

avr300  
#11 Posted : Friday, April 10, 2015 8:51:42 PM(UTC)
avr300

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 6/17/2008(UTC)
Posts: 921
Denmark

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 70 time(s) in 69 post(s)
Originally Posted by: felipe Go to Quoted Post
Situation without nothing connected after the AVC isn't changedr: left channel -6VDC right channel -5VDC


felipe wrote:

Left channel -1.6VDC Right channel -0.8VDC


I think is has changed quite a bit. Unfortunately not for the better.


Sorry, can't help you. I think your Legato is just fine. Something wired going on with the AVC.
felipe  
#12 Posted : Monday, April 13, 2015 3:24:27 PM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 317
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Can be the dc current coming out from the DAC plasying DSD diles is saturating the AVC core?

Could someone tell me how many max mA gives the Legato playing DSD files?

Edited by user Monday, April 13, 2015 3:27:38 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

avr300  
#13 Posted : Monday, April 13, 2015 6:03:42 PM(UTC)
avr300

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 6/17/2008(UTC)
Posts: 921
Denmark

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 70 time(s) in 69 post(s)
Could you try one thing. Play non-DSD materiale. Is the DC now gone?

Edited by user Monday, April 13, 2015 6:04:23 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

felipe  
#14 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2015 10:22:50 AM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 317
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Yes, for example I play first DSD files and DC comes, next I play PCM files & DC is gone.
felipe  
#15 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2015 10:25:11 AM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 317
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
@ Brian & Russ
A little bit of help will be appreciated.

TIA
Felipe

Brian Donegan  
#16 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2015 1:17:28 PM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,782
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 126 time(s) in 121 post(s)
What is your DSD source?

When you see the DC-offset, if you disconnect the DSD source, I assume the DC goes away?
felipe  
#17 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2015 4:59:12 PM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 317
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
BIII + Legato without output caps.

Yes.

I have the effect of the saturated AVC core lossing of bass only playing DSD files.
felipe  
#18 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2015 5:40:05 PM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 317
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Strange now is not DC offset playing DSD files, still loosing bass playing DSD files.
felipe  
#19 Posted : Friday, May 1, 2015 7:12:33 PM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 317
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Brian can Legato outputs unbalanced current using SE outputs?
avr300  
#20 Posted : Saturday, May 2, 2015 9:10:47 AM(UTC)
avr300

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 6/17/2008(UTC)
Posts: 921
Denmark

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 70 time(s) in 69 post(s)
SE output is unbalanced
Rss Feed  Atom Feed
Users browsing this topic
9 Pages123>»
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.