Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

9 Pages«<23456>»
Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
Russ White  
#61 Posted : Saturday, February 20, 2016 3:47:51 PM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,979
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
Something is very fishy there.... It should not effect power consumption at all to set the DIP switches in any configuration.

If you can only get 2.557 voltage out of your regulator then your regulator can't supply enough current - it should stay ~5.5V even under the dummy load.

In any case when you have the power situation sorted try leaving all the switches in the stock position (all on)

Edited by user Saturday, February 20, 2016 3:59:15 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

avr300  
#62 Posted : Saturday, February 20, 2016 4:49:54 PM(UTC)
avr300

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 6/17/2008(UTC)
Posts: 921
Denmark

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 70 time(s) in 69 post(s)
Originally Posted by: felipe Go to Quoted Post
Checked the regulator with a 12R dummy load to simulate BIII power consumption gives min. 2.557VDC across the dummy load so 438mA as expected, also the regulator is adjusted for a max. current of 800mA


Say what?

Please specify, what is the "regulator" ?

Is that your power supply to the DAC ?


edit: sorry, didn't see Russ answer. Sure the "less than 5.x v" is critical.

Edited by user Saturday, February 20, 2016 5:02:04 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

felipe  
#63 Posted : Saturday, February 20, 2016 5:25:42 PM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 317
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Russ White Go to Quoted Post
Something is very fishy there.... It should not effect power consumption at all to set the DIP switches in any configuration.

If you can only get 2.557 voltage out of your regulator then your regulator can't supply enough current - it should stay ~5.5V even under the dummy load.

In any case when you have the power situation sorted try leaving all the switches in the stock position (all on)


The target is 5.5 without load?
felipe  
#64 Posted : Saturday, February 20, 2016 5:26:56 PM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 317
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Leon guide target for BIII is 5.25VDC 440mA?
avr300  
#65 Posted : Saturday, February 20, 2016 5:29:12 PM(UTC)
avr300

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 6/17/2008(UTC)
Posts: 921
Denmark

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 70 time(s) in 69 post(s)
The target is 5.5v with and without load.

Under any circumstances the DAC needs 5.5v (I use 5.2v never mind that).

Which power supply (regulator) are you using ?
felipe  
#66 Posted : Saturday, February 20, 2016 5:31:36 PM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 317
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Originally Posted by: avr300 Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: felipe Go to Quoted Post
Checked the regulator with a 12R dummy load to simulate BIII power consumption gives min. 2.557VDC across the dummy load so 438mA as expected, also the regulator is adjusted for a max. current of 800mA


Say what?

Please specify, what is the "regulator" ?

Is that your power supply to the DAC ?


edit: sorry, didn't see Russ answer. Sure the "less than 5.x v" is critical.


Yes regulator is powering BIII.
avr300  
#67 Posted : Saturday, February 20, 2016 5:32:27 PM(UTC)
avr300

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 6/17/2008(UTC)
Posts: 921
Denmark

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 70 time(s) in 69 post(s)
Is Regulator == Placid ??
felipe  
#68 Posted : Saturday, February 20, 2016 5:34:19 PM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 317
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Originally Posted by: avr300 Go to Quoted Post
The target is 5.5v with and without load.

Under any circumstances the DAC needs 5.5v (I use 5.2v never mind that).

Which power supply (regulator) are you using ?


I reversed the DIP switches and now I have 5.244 Vout

Edited by user Saturday, February 20, 2016 5:36:36 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

felipe  
#69 Posted : Saturday, February 20, 2016 5:36:12 PM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 317
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Originally Posted by: avr300 Go to Quoted Post
Is Regulator == Placid ??


No, is Salas Reflector-D.
avr300  
#70 Posted : Saturday, February 20, 2016 5:42:37 PM(UTC)
avr300

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 6/17/2008(UTC)
Posts: 921
Denmark

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 70 time(s) in 69 post(s)
Originally Posted by: felipe Go to Quoted Post
Leon guide target for BIII is 5.25VDC 440mA?


Well, as Russ says, reversing the dip switches should have no effect on the current consumption.
I can't help you with that, I'm "only" at BII.


If a shunt runs out of current, by design the voltage sags.
Try increasing the shunt current and see what happens.
felipe  
#71 Posted : Saturday, February 20, 2016 5:52:18 PM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 317
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
My regulator is set to 600mA of current & works well with the dummy load, I reversed again the DIP switches & Vout lowered to 1.089VDC & Trident LEDs don't lit.

Edited by user Saturday, February 20, 2016 5:55:14 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Russ White  
#72 Posted : Saturday, February 20, 2016 6:13:00 PM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,979
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
What is the voltage at the VD input when powered? It has to be 5-5.5V(5.25 is fine)!!! If it is dropping below that you need a better supply. :)

Edited by user Saturday, February 20, 2016 6:13:41 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

felipe  
#73 Posted : Saturday, February 20, 2016 6:21:16 PM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 317
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
DIP configuration is:

SW1
OFF 1,2,3,4,6, 8
ON 5,7

SW2
OFF 1,2,3,4,5,6,7
ON 8

VD input when powered 5,3V
felipe  
#74 Posted : Saturday, February 20, 2016 6:23:51 PM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 317
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
DIP configuration is:

SW1
ON 1,2,3,4,6, 8
OFF 5,7

SW2
ON 1,2,3,4,5,6,7
OFF 8

VD input when powered 1,82V
felipe  
#75 Posted : Saturday, February 20, 2016 6:25:34 PM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 317
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
I'm sure I don't need another better supply because as said before the regulator is working fine with a dummy load, is the BIII when I change the DIP swithces that drops the regulator.

Edited by user Saturday, February 20, 2016 6:27:38 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

avr300  
#76 Posted : Saturday, February 20, 2016 6:30:17 PM(UTC)
avr300

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 6/17/2008(UTC)
Posts: 921
Denmark

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 70 time(s) in 69 post(s)
Originally Posted by: avr300 Go to Quoted Post

Try increasing the shunt current and see what happens.


Russ White  
#77 Posted : Saturday, February 20, 2016 6:33:19 PM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,979
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
You may be operating too close to the edge for the regulator - when the DAC comes out of mute it will naturally draw a bit more current (because it is engaging the DAC outputs)

You should be able to run the DAC with the defaults (just carefully take the controller out of the socket) - then the switches will have no effect at all. You just won't be able to use the controller's volume control - so make plans accordingly.
felipe  
#78 Posted : Saturday, February 20, 2016 6:33:33 PM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 317
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Originally Posted by: avr300 Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: avr300 Go to Quoted Post

Try increasing the shunt current and see what happens.




More than 600mA!!!
avr300  
#79 Posted : Saturday, February 20, 2016 6:36:33 PM(UTC)
avr300

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 6/17/2008(UTC)
Posts: 921
Denmark

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 70 time(s) in 69 post(s)
Why not? Obviously it runs out of current.
felipe  
#80 Posted : Saturday, February 20, 2016 6:38:31 PM(UTC)
felipe

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 317
Location: Catalonia new Europe state

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Russ White Go to Quoted Post
You may be operating too close to the edge for the regulator - when the DAC comes out of mute it will naturally draw a bit more current (because it is engaging the DAC outputs)

You should be able to run the DAC with the defaults (just carefully take the controller out of the socket) - then the switches will have no effect at all. You just won't be able to use the controller's volume control - so make plans accordingly.


Without IC8

DIP configuration is:

SW1
ON 1,2,3,4,6, 8
OFF 5,7

SW2
ON 1,2,3,4,5,6,7
OFF 8

VD input when powered 1,092V
Rss Feed  Atom Feed
Users browsing this topic
9 Pages«<23456>»
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.