Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
needsp  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2016 10:28:56 AM(UTC)
needsp

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 7/22/2009(UTC)
Posts: 78
Location: Norwich, UK

Thanks: 2 times
Hi Brian

I have an Amanero-Hermes-Cronus Combo with 45.1584/49.152MHz Rhea clocks. I’m feeding it from an Auralic Aries streamer, and into a Buffalo II. The Amanero is powered by an iFi 5V supply (very low noise).

My Buffalo II has a RJ45-socketed input installed. In the past this received just a DSD signal tapped from a Denon disc player. The arrangement works well, without Teleporters; the player is connected to Buffalo with a 50 cm RJ45 cat 5 cable.

I now use this input with the Amanero combo, connected by a 10 cm RJ45 cable hard wired to Cronus. It works perfectly with PCM files up to 196 kHz/24 bit; but with DFF files, even DSD 64, I get music but also hiss and whines, which persist when playback is paused.

I tested the “DSD0E” pin on Amanero during DSD playback an it remained at 0 V. I thought it should register “1”- i.e. 3.3 V? Should I try taking an output direct from Amanero? Or might the Amanero need re-flashing (it was pre-programmed by you)? I’m very reluctant to try this- it’s outside my experience and my comfort zone!

Thanks

Paul N
Russ White  
#2 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2016 11:30:09 PM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,978
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
Hmmm... in slave mode I am not sure that register will change. You may simply need shorter wiring - even with cat5 unless you are using teleporter.
Russ White  
#3 Posted : Tuesday, April 19, 2016 4:47:44 PM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,978
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
Also I would simply power the amanero via USB - it will absolutely not do any good to power it separately (because it is isolated) and could cause initialization issues.
Russ White  
#4 Posted : Tuesday, April 19, 2016 4:50:22 PM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,978
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
Also you need to ensure your DSD is encoded with DoP. The amanero uses DoP to decode DSD signals.
needsp  
#5 Posted : Tuesday, April 19, 2016 5:51:45 PM(UTC)
needsp

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 7/22/2009(UTC)
Posts: 78
Location: Norwich, UK

Thanks: 2 times
Hi Russ

You got it. I didn’t know what DoP was until you mentioned it! After I quick read around I checked the settings of my Auralic Mini server- I’d disabled the “DSD over PCM” option. (I sort of assumed that, like DSD over HDMI from a DVD/SACD/CD disc player, it was an option to convert to PCM permanently- unless I’ve got that wrong too.) Now fine with DSD64, slight issue with DSD128 before track begins, then fine- in particular, no clicks and whines when I pause, just silence.

BTW, the DSD0E pin now goes high during DSD playback. Learning all the time!

I intend to install teleporters, and an I2S/DSD or S/PDIF 2:1 mux, and to tidy up the wiring further.

Many thanks

Paul N
Russ White  
#6 Posted : Tuesday, April 19, 2016 7:22:48 PM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,978
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
Excellent! Glad to help.
Rss Feed  Atom Feed
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.