Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
spresto9  
#1 Posted : Saturday, April 4, 2020 3:46:23 AM(UTC)
spresto9

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 4/1/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18
Location: uk

Hi all,
Please help, having just built this ADC (96/24) to run my Retro into my Buffalo-IIIsePro-28, I have no sound, the Spdif input on my B-111 works great with my CD, both the ADC and CD work fine into another DAC (Tascam) With the ADC connected to the Spdif input I get only silence but the lock led lights, the spdif output from the ADC is standard 0.5 VPP @ 75 Ω terminated.
Please help I'm a bit stumped,
Many thaks.
Spresto9

Edited by user Saturday, April 4, 2020 3:47:29 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Brian Donegan  
#2 Posted : Monday, April 6, 2020 12:50:41 PM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,809
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 127 time(s) in 122 post(s)
I think we need more information about your setup.

As always, some pictures can be very helpful.

Is there anything in between the devices providing switching? You are sure the SPDIF mode is set on the DAC? Polarity of the S/PDIF connection is correct?

Edited by user Monday, April 6, 2020 12:52:08 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

spresto9  
#3 Posted : Monday, April 6, 2020 8:05:23 PM(UTC)
spresto9

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 4/1/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18
Location: uk

Hi Brian, Thanks for answering.

Some Photos

A bit more info, my dac has two inputs, i2s via a Teleporter and s/pdif connected directly to the s/pdif and gnd input and  selected by a switch on ip/s.
My CD (consumer level s/pdif) works great via a bnc cable into the Buff dac, if I then connect my newly built ADC (consumer level s/pdif) to my Buff dac with the same cable I get no sound but lock led lights, however if I connect either the ADC or the CD using the same cable to my Tascam dac I get music in both cases.
I have tried reversing the polarity of the s/pdif (didn't know it mattered, the output on the ADC is transformer isolated)  - no change, currently there switching between ADC and CD in the ADC box using OTTO 11 and this works fine, in the dac no switching (other than selecting S/pdif or i2s in the dac)

This is what the output of the ADC looks like (not sure it looks right or not)

scope spdif (640x480).jpg (262kb) downloaded 9 time(s).

Cheers, Steve

Edited by user Tuesday, April 28, 2020 5:34:41 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

spresto9  
#4 Posted : Friday, May 1, 2020 1:24:19 PM(UTC)
spresto9

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 4/1/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18
Location: uk



Bit of an update,
I have discovered that if I route the digital signal from the ADC via the Tascam dacs pass through to my B111se it plays and I get sound,not sure what this means.
I have also tried all of the ADC sample rate settings, results are unchanged

Cheers Steve
Rss Feed  Atom Feed
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.