Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login


4 Pages123>»
Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
washout  
#1 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 5:44:45 PM(UTC)
washout

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 10/6/2008(UTC)
Posts: 29
Location: peoples paradise NY

There are plenty of 100K/50K remote volume control solutions on Ebay. I think Russ mentione once that a 10-15K pot was as about as high as you could go to use with the Volumite. Anybody have any suggestions for a remote control for the Volumite?
LeonvB  
#2 Posted : Friday, November 12, 2010 11:01:43 AM(UTC)
LeonvB

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 5/23/2010(UTC)
Posts: 719
Location: Netherlands

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 48 time(s) in 45 post(s)
An Alps motorized pot 10K?
washout  
#3 Posted : Friday, November 12, 2010 7:53:50 PM(UTC)
washout

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 10/6/2008(UTC)
Posts: 29
Location: peoples paradise NY

A link to one of those? Thanks LeonvB
LeonvB  
#4 Posted : Saturday, November 13, 2010 3:49:27 AM(UTC)
LeonvB

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 5/23/2010(UTC)
Posts: 719
Location: Netherlands

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 48 time(s) in 45 post(s)
47500 hits on google with those searchterms.
An example: http://stores.ebay.nl/fa...orized-/_i.html?_fsub=11
avr300  
#5 Posted : Saturday, November 13, 2010 4:56:52 AM(UTC)
avr300

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 6/17/2008(UTC)
Posts: 921
Denmark

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 70 time(s) in 69 post(s)
Or any other motorized 10k pot. The pot in not in the audio path.
washout  
#6 Posted : Saturday, November 13, 2010 8:42:38 AM(UTC)
washout

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 10/6/2008(UTC)
Posts: 29
Location: peoples paradise NY

The options I saw for a 10K motorized volume are buy the kit(remote, reciever, all except power)/add a pot, about 100 bucks

Ebay complete kits with 100k pots about 50 bucks.

I'm not normally so cheap with things I think I need, but as avr300 said the stupid thing isn't in the audio path.
I have a question in to one of the Eay sellers for a 10K version
Brian Donegan  
#7 Posted : Saturday, November 13, 2010 10:04:14 AM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,865
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 138 time(s) in 133 post(s)
With a little creativity, one could replace the pot on the Volumite with an IR receiver, and reprogram the ATTiny85 accordingly...
ronpod  
#8 Posted : Sunday, December 5, 2010 3:31:01 PM(UTC)
ronpod

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 7/17/2010(UTC)
Posts: 22
Location: Colorado USA

So maybe an IR-receiver with ATtiny85 firmware that will cause the input from the pot to go to sleep when an IR remote signal is sensed, hence the priority is switched to the IR input. But as soon as the pot value changes again the controled volume output to the ES9018 will slowly ramp to the new pot value switching the priority back to the new pot value. That way the volume could be controlled by both the pot knob and an IR remote. In other words, the input that was changed the most recently would have priority in sensing for the control of volume.

Is this too much programming for the ATtiny85? Just trying some ideas...
glt  
#9 Posted : Sunday, December 5, 2010 5:17:47 PM(UTC)
glt

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 11/9/2007(UTC)
Posts: 453
Location: usa

If you need to control the volume from a local knob and a remote, you will need a rotary encoder so that a fixed position of the knob is not required. If you a bit software inclined, you can reuse the code from my diy remote controlled project.

Edited by user Sunday, December 5, 2010 5:55:57 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

ronpod  
#10 Posted : Sunday, December 5, 2010 7:28:23 PM(UTC)
ronpod

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 7/17/2010(UTC)
Posts: 22
Location: Colorado USA

glt - your remote project sounds interesting; can you provide a link?
glt  
#11 Posted : Sunday, December 5, 2010 11:05:43 PM(UTC)
glt

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 11/9/2007(UTC)
Posts: 453
Location: usa

ronpod wrote:
glt - your remote project sounds interesting; can you provide a link?


Click the little "blog" icon
ronpod  
#12 Posted : Monday, December 6, 2010 12:48:24 PM(UTC)
ronpod

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 7/17/2010(UTC)
Posts: 22
Location: Colorado USA

I like your remote solution! Great use of resources (and quite resourceful, too). Are you currently using this remote system?
This is a great blog!
glt  
#13 Posted : Monday, December 6, 2010 3:48:11 PM(UTC)
glt

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 11/9/2007(UTC)
Posts: 453
Location: usa

Yes. Just added the remote a few days ago. The Apple remote is a real nice device. It is the only remote that can match the Buffalo II :-)
washout  
#14 Posted : Monday, December 6, 2010 6:44:48 PM(UTC)
washout

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 10/6/2008(UTC)
Posts: 29
Location: peoples paradise NY

All this sounds good but is over my head. If someone comes up with a step by step for the weak minded on this one I would appreciate it.
glt, maybe your site is showing the step by step, but again this stuff is beyond me.
ronpod  
#15 Posted : Monday, December 6, 2010 9:39:52 PM(UTC)
ronpod

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 7/17/2010(UTC)
Posts: 22
Location: Colorado USA

washout, it does indeed look challenging. This should be a fun DIY experience; I purchased an Arguino Uno today. Thanks, glt for showing the way! It looks as if the program includes the remote with the encoder as well as a display; is that true?
glt  
#16 Posted : Tuesday, December 7, 2010 12:35:37 AM(UTC)
glt

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 11/9/2007(UTC)
Posts: 453
Location: usa

Yes... it is fun and a lot of learning.
Washout: you may want to wait for TPA's solution as it is a complete kit.
LeonvB  
#17 Posted : Tuesday, December 7, 2010 12:02:53 PM(UTC)
LeonvB

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 5/23/2010(UTC)
Posts: 719
Location: Netherlands

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 48 time(s) in 45 post(s)
As much as I like the kits, the AC1 IS a very long wait. Next year I want to finish my DAC, with USB 2.0 connectivity and remote. If by then the AC1 + femto still isn't available I'll propably use something like an Arduino to build it.
branko  
#18 Posted : Monday, December 20, 2010 2:43:45 AM(UTC)
branko

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 3/23/2010(UTC)
Posts: 52
Location: Germany

Thanks: 1 times
Hi,

i am trying to use the hifiduino project with a dual mono buffall dac. therefore i would have to rewrite the firmware. is there any source codefor the firmware the volumite use for dual mono versus single stereo i could use as starting point?

thx

Branko
Russ White  
#19 Posted : Monday, December 20, 2010 7:17:01 AM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,979
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
Not yet, but I hope so soon. I am awaiting word directly from ESS that it is ok to publish that source code.
ronpod  
#20 Posted : Monday, December 20, 2010 11:01:01 AM(UTC)
ronpod

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 7/17/2010(UTC)
Posts: 22
Location: Colorado USA

Greetings,

I have implemented the hifiduino project with the B2. The remote is very handsome (invites more programming)and the encoder works well as a knob volume control. The EA DIP204B4 LCD display that I used required some non-obvious programming to align the display characters but that was the only hitch (other than a remapped character palette).

All-in-all a very fun project that yielded a very nice display of sample rate, volume level, etc. I can now control volume from the kitchen. But now the new circuitry just be fit into the DAC enclosure. The sound quality is uneffected.

Thanks glt! and thanks to Russ and Brian for providing an excellent DAC DIY!

Merry Christmas to all...
Rss Feed  Atom Feed
Users browsing this topic
4 Pages123>»
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.