Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
DQ828  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, August 17, 2010 5:26:55 AM(UTC)
DQ828

Groups: Member

Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 3 post(s)
From what I have read people are very divided about Lukasz Frikus, all I can say is that he is the reason I have come here, and the reason I intend to buy TP products. I am as I said in my last (first) post, a complete beginner. I stumbled on Lukasz's site some months back & have since built a pair of his P17 & applied one of his valve output stages to a cheap Chinese Zero Dac & I am hooked, by the way the speakers sound great, except a dodgy ebay seller sold me some suss 15" Altec Bass Drivers, there ok a lower levels but turn it up to my sons listening levels, and its not so good. They cost a fortune to ship from the US to Australia. The Saba mids sound fantastic, the tweeter I'm still not completley sure about.

Lukasz can be a very hard road to follow especially for a beginner, but he has got me hooked on DIY and know I want to build another DAc using TP products but applying the tube/valve output stage. Unfortunately, as I'm sure you are only too aware, he wasn't kind in the last part of his post on your latest buffalo(or was it a previous product, comprehensive information is not his specialty, but at least he warns you about that) He still has your DAC as number one though.

I will be using a Squeezebox as the transport, to the DAC/Tube Output Stage (TOPS) & then either straight to an amp or via a Preamp.

I desperately need help to get me there, my questions are.

Does the latest Buffalo have in built opamps, or can I come straight out of the Dac to the TOPS?

What else would you recommend I buy to go along with the Buffalo?

I assume it would be a very good idea to buy your Placid power supply?

Any other positive feedback/advice would be more than welcome.