Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

4 Pages<1234>
Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
naa3e5  
#21 Posted : Thursday, April 9, 2009 9:40:47 AM(UTC)
naa3e5

Groups: Member

So I have a quick "learning" style question. How did you discover this oscillation? was it audible? Or could one find it only it they had a 'scope? I am reading all the different posts and building up my DIY knowledge as I am new to this hobby and found this scenario interesting and want to learn soething from it. I don't own a scope and my electronics knowledge probeably wouldn't lend itself to the correct employmtn of said 'scope either! So I am trying to figure out how everyone troubleshoots issues!
Russ White  
#22 Posted : Thursday, April 9, 2009 9:40:51 AM(UTC)
Russ White

Groups: Administration, Customer

Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
HI Ross, if you offset is that high would use output caps to protect your amplifier/speakers.
krgaunt  
#23 Posted : Thursday, April 9, 2009 4:09:11 PM(UTC)
krgaunt

Hi Naa3e5

I learned about the oscillation by using a scope. In this case the oscillation was in the MHz region, so I would not have heard it, but my power amp would have noticed it had I hooked it up. I don't know what the Sympatico cut-off freq is, but it may have passed the oscillation on to the speakers and fried my tweeters. This would not have been good, I have great affection for my tweeters.