Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
Florianderton  
#1 Posted : Monday, June 15, 2015 8:54:51 PM(UTC)
Florianderton

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 7/8/2013(UTC)
Posts: 43
Austria
Location: Bad Ischl

Dear support team!

I hope I dont annoy you with this. I have already managed to introduce a 3,3V battery for the onboard clock supply of Buffalo IIISE DAC and I am able to switch between battery and Trident supply. Now I am planning/ thinking about using more batteries.

My question is about the AVCC Dual Shunt Regulator Module. I read it powers the analog circuits of the DAC, I guess the two outputs are for left and right, is that correct? Is it vital that these two voltages are the very same value, that close? Is that the reason why this special shunt regulator was designed, instead of using two normal tridents? In order to get two supplies which are very very close in value?

Thank you!

Regards,

Florian
Brian Donegan  
#2 Posted : Wednesday, June 17, 2015 2:53:57 PM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,799
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 127 time(s) in 122 post(s)
The voltage of the AVCC supply dictates the voltage swing of the outputs. You want the values to be very close, so both channels have the same swing.
Florianderton  
#3 Posted : Wednesday, June 17, 2015 3:05:36 PM(UTC)
Florianderton

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 7/8/2013(UTC)
Posts: 43
Austria
Location: Bad Ischl

Thank you for your answer. To me this means I can only use one battery and would have to drive both outputs this way.

I d like to order an AVCC Dual Shunt Regulator Module version 3, will I get one if I order it now online? I already use version 2.1.

Thank you, Florian
Brian Donegan  
#4 Posted : Monday, June 22, 2015 12:36:53 PM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,799
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 127 time(s) in 122 post(s)
There is no version 3 of the AVCC.
Florianderton  
#5 Posted : Monday, June 22, 2015 12:48:50 PM(UTC)
Florianderton

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 7/8/2013(UTC)
Posts: 43
Austria
Location: Bad Ischl

Brian Donegan  
#6 Posted : Monday, June 22, 2015 5:06:17 PM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,799
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 127 time(s) in 122 post(s)
Ah, it's not actuallt called AVCC 3.0. It is AVCC_SR_1.0, which I will admit is a bit confusing.

To answer your question, I only ship one version, and that is it (the latest).

Edited by user Wednesday, June 24, 2015 1:30:18 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Florianderton  
#7 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2015 10:28:12 AM(UTC)
Florianderton

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 7/8/2013(UTC)
Posts: 43
Austria
Location: Bad Ischl

I am still a lot confused - on my AVCC which I already possess, there it says "2.1".

To sum it up, I have already got a message that my order is on it's way - do I get now the latest version? Or the same again, which I already got? I have immediately answered the order confirmation mail, that you please make sure I get the new version, I wouldnt be interested in the "2.1" again. - I mean after all - there is a new version right? Why else would other people write that it is much better than the "2.1"....

I hope everything is alright!

Thank you, Florian
avr300  
#8 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2015 12:24:07 PM(UTC)
avr300

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 6/17/2008(UTC)
Posts: 921
Denmark

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 70 time(s) in 69 post(s)
Your current AVCC does it have 1 or 2 LEDS ?

If it has 2 LED's it NOT the newest version.

The most recent version only have 1 LED.
Florianderton  
#9 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2015 9:27:53 PM(UTC)
Florianderton

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 7/8/2013(UTC)
Posts: 43
Austria
Location: Bad Ischl

Mine has two! - So sounds good, I guess you sent me the newest version, so everything is fine. Thank you! I am very excited about it!
ferrilu1  
#10 Posted : Tuesday, November 24, 2015 2:17:38 PM(UTC)
ferrilu1

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 11/4/2010(UTC)
Posts: 17
Location: Italy

Hi I own a Buffalo II with, I guess, the very first AVCC module. With the new one I only have to substitute and no further power regulation?

thanks
gf
Brian Donegan  
#11 Posted : Tuesday, November 24, 2015 7:48:39 PM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,799
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 127 time(s) in 122 post(s)
Yes, it is a straight replacement.
Kennyeng98  
#12 Posted : Sunday, April 3, 2016 1:49:45 PM(UTC)
Kennyeng98

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 10/8/2015(UTC)
Posts: 2
United States
Location: New York

Hi,

I received Buffalo II board and it came with AVCC_SR V1.0. but AVCC module doesn't have pear to match with the Buffalo board. Please advise which direction to mount the board? or it doesn't matter for this version.

Thanks
kenny
avr300  
#13 Posted : Sunday, April 3, 2016 2:26:20 PM(UTC)
avr300

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 6/17/2008(UTC)
Posts: 921
Denmark

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 70 time(s) in 69 post(s)
Direction does matter.

Can you line up like this?

cut.jpg (93kb) downloaded 45 time(s).

Edited by user Sunday, April 3, 2016 2:27:33 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Kennyeng98  
#14 Posted : Sunday, April 3, 2016 3:03:13 PM(UTC)
Kennyeng98

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 10/8/2015(UTC)
Posts: 2
United States
Location: New York

Thanks. I have a different version than pic. I think IN should line up with VD .
avr300  
#15 Posted : Sunday, April 3, 2016 4:02:15 PM(UTC)
avr300

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 6/17/2008(UTC)
Posts: 921
Denmark

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 70 time(s) in 69 post(s)
Correct
Rss Feed  Atom Feed
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.