Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
perra_e  
#1 Posted : Thursday, October 25, 2012 5:38:11 PM(UTC)
perra_e

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 1/21/2012(UTC)
Posts: 9
Location: Sweden

I have problem with my S/PDIF-4 Input Board.


If I connect more then one of the inputs on the board it is impossible for the dac to have a lock on the signal. It is even enought to tuch one of the input terminals with a short piece of wire to get this problem.
There is no connection betwen chassis ground and Buffalo III.
There is no connection betwen ground and RCA terminals.

Does any one have a suggestion what I shall do?

First picture where lock doesnt work.
Second picture is the "wire test"
Third picture and here it works after removing one set of inputcables.

Edited by user Thursday, October 25, 2012 5:41:03 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

perra_e attached the following image(s):
spdif_1.JPG (187kb) downloaded 32 time(s).
spdif_2.JPG (173kb) downloaded 38 time(s).
spdif_3.JPG (218kb) downloaded 42 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
gwikse  
#2 Posted : Thursday, October 25, 2012 8:21:50 PM(UTC)
gwikse

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 1/19/2011(UTC)
Posts: 332
Location: Oslo, Norway

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 16 time(s) in 16 post(s)
perra_e  
#3 Posted : Thursday, October 25, 2012 9:33:16 PM(UTC)
perra_e

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 1/21/2012(UTC)
Posts: 9
Location: Sweden

Thanks a lot for this thread! I have missed that even thou I have tried to search.
I will work on those sugestions tomorrow. Now it's bedtime here.

--Per
perra_e  
#4 Posted : Friday, October 26, 2012 10:57:48 PM(UTC)
perra_e

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 1/21/2012(UTC)
Posts: 9
Location: Sweden

I made a quick try tonight with 4.75 volt and it seems to work perfact !!!
Next stepp will be to make a PCB for the lm317.

Again thanks every one for this help. I would probably not have found this myself.
cubeasic  
#5 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 4:36:32 PM(UTC)
cubeasic

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 9/28/2011(UTC)
Posts: 31
Location: Germany

Thanks: 2 times
I also cured a lock-issue today by feeding external 4.0V to the 4-SPDIF board.
Works great!

Even though the 5,25V that are supplied by default, work for most people, it seems to induce locking-problems with some setups.

Edited by user Saturday, October 27, 2012 8:50:46 PM(UTC)  | Reason: grammar

Jordo  
#6 Posted : Saturday, October 27, 2012 5:56:42 PM(UTC)
Jordo

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/7/2011(UTC)
Posts: 433
Location: Amsterdam

Thanks: 27 times
Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 3 post(s)
Hm this is also a very valuable post for me!

I did too had the "wire" problem.
I disconnected the BNC and RCA S/Pdif to the 4:1 Board because of this problem leaving only the Optical module connected directly to the DAC but I've never seen this as a permanent sollution.

Thx!

Jordo
perra_e  
#7 Posted : Sunday, October 28, 2012 9:34:08 AM(UTC)
perra_e

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 1/21/2012(UTC)
Posts: 9
Location: Sweden

Unfortunately it didn't heltp. I tested down to 4.6 Volt and after that the relay on the sidecar is not reliable.
I have removed all wires again, but I will make a new try and lower the voltage down to 4.0 V or even lower and se if it helps. If it does I can use 5.25V for just the relay.

--Per
Corpius  
#8 Posted : Sunday, October 28, 2012 3:19:24 PM(UTC)
Corpius

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 2/1/2012(UTC)
Posts: 332
Location: The Netherlands

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 18 time(s) in 18 post(s)
Originally Posted by: cubeasic Go to Quoted Post
I also cured a lock-issue today by feeding external 4.0V to the 4-SPDIF board.
Works great!

Even though the 5,25V that are supplied by default, work for most people, it seems to induce locking-problems with some setups.
True, but it only seems to be happening in 220-230V regions

Originally Posted by: perra_e Go to Quoted Post
Unfortunately it didn't heltp. I tested down to 4.6 Volt and after that the relay on the sidecar is not reliable.
I have removed all wires again, but I will make a new try and lower the voltage down to 4.0 V or even lower and se if it helps. If it does I can use 5.25V for just the relay.

--Per
I use 4.2V for powering both the sicecar and spdif board. At this voltage the relays are still reliable. This is what I did to solve the lock issue: http://ce-designs.net/#spdif_level_converter
perra_e  
#9 Posted : Sunday, October 28, 2012 6:08:10 PM(UTC)
perra_e

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 1/21/2012(UTC)
Posts: 9
Location: Sweden

Finally it works. I tried to lower to 3.9V and the relays still work fina and also all the input.
I wote for that this information shall be in the Integration Guide.

Thank's all that have helped here.

--Per

LeonvB  
#10 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 10:47:52 PM(UTC)
LeonvB

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 5/23/2010(UTC)
Posts: 719
Location: Netherlands

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 48 time(s) in 45 post(s)
I've put it in version 1.2.7
Corpius  
#11 Posted : Wednesday, October 31, 2012 6:57:54 PM(UTC)
Corpius

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 2/1/2012(UTC)
Posts: 332
Location: The Netherlands

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 18 time(s) in 18 post(s)
Nice, that will save some people some headaches. Applause
Jordo  
#12 Posted : Wednesday, October 31, 2012 9:13:30 PM(UTC)
Jordo

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/7/2011(UTC)
Posts: 433
Location: Amsterdam

Thanks: 27 times
Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 3 post(s)
Yeah, like Macsel on zelfbouwaudio.nl Dancing
Rss Feed  Atom Feed
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.