Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

2 Pages12>
Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
Russ White  
#1 Posted : Friday, August 14, 2009 4:46:41 PM(UTC)
Russ White

Groups: Administration, Customer

Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
Hello Folks,

I have the great privilege to design some pretty cool gear for myself and for people who like me enjoy great music and enjoy the DIY aspect. I get to do what I do because you people like the result.

Lets make a few things clear. I am not an electrical engineer, but I know my way around. I am not sure I am even an "audiophile" because I think that term has been somewhat bastardized. I am a naturally inquisitive and curious person who loves music and challenges.

So that's enough about me. What am I taking the time to post about here...

I have been thinking a great deal bout the direction to take for the ES9018 DIY edition board.

There are some details of execution which leave me perplexed as to which road to choose.

Some people want (or think they want) flexibility, but the honest truth is that the very best design is not going to be all that "flexible". The reason is that certain parasitic properties of PCB design will start to dominate if you leave too many options open. I don't feel like I am doing people a service if I give them a flexible pile of junk. I have been conversing with some of my EE friends and there seems like some things you just can't compromise on and retain a good degree of measurable success. Especially regarding RF and EMI.

What spawned all of this critical thinking? Well honestly a very brutally honest email from a comrade name Per. :) I won't mention his full name because I am not sure he wants me to. In any case he made me realize just how little I know about a few things. Lets just say I know more now, but I am still a journeyman.

Here are some thoughts: