Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
jaggel  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, February 24, 2015 9:34:10 PM(UTC)
jaggel

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 11/25/2013(UTC)
Posts: 17
Greece

Thanks: 1 times
I recently bought and built a single ended kit of Joshua tree in order to use it with my dcb1 buffer...

Is there anyway I can test/troubleshoot it because no sound is coming out and no relay clicking is audible when I turn the pot on the volumite...? Think

The voltage seems OK from the driver board to both volumite and relay board...

Thanks in advance...
Brian Donegan  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, February 24, 2015 11:15:52 PM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,841
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 134 time(s) in 129 post(s)
Some things to check:

  • J1 should be installed
  • The pull-up resistors on the Volumite should be installed.
  • All DIP switches set to OFF (default is ON)
  • Should be using the JT2 output header to connect to the relay board(s)

Edited by user Tuesday, February 24, 2015 11:16:37 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

jaggel  
#3 Posted : Wednesday, February 25, 2015 5:40:24 AM(UTC)
jaggel

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 11/25/2013(UTC)
Posts: 17
Greece

Thanks: 1 times
Originally Posted by: Brian Donegan Go to Quoted Post
Some things to check:

  • J1 should be installed
  • The pull-up resistors on the Volumite should be installed.
  • All DIP switches set to OFF (default is ON)
  • Should be using the JT2 output header to connect to the relay board(s)


Well,

  • I cannot find any item labeled J1 in the kit parts... Based on the name I would say it is a jumper correct? Should I use some wire or it requires a zero ohm resistor?
  • They are installed
  • They are indeed in the ON position... I will set them to OFF.
  • JT2 is used and soldered like the pics on your site

So please tell me what to use on J1 (it is not listed in the parts list) and I will report back...

Thanks in advance
jaggel  
#4 Posted : Wednesday, February 25, 2015 4:37:28 PM(UTC)
jaggel

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 11/25/2013(UTC)
Posts: 17
Greece

Thanks: 1 times
Well, J1 is not needed... At least in my case. Turning off the dip switches did the trick...

Is J1 needed for a single ended usage or it only for a balanced configuration?

Thanks in advance
Brian Donegan  
#5 Posted : Wednesday, February 25, 2015 6:29:11 PM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,841
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 134 time(s) in 129 post(s)
When J1 is not installed, the port expander chip is powered by the supply on the Volumite. With it installed, it is powered by the onboard power supply. Either way will work if you use the standard configuration (Volumite for control). If you were using another I2C controller to control the relay board, you would most likely want J1 installed.
jaggel  
#6 Posted : Wednesday, February 25, 2015 9:07:45 PM(UTC)
jaggel

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 11/25/2013(UTC)
Posts: 17
Greece

Thanks: 1 times
Originally Posted by: Brian Donegan Go to Quoted Post
When J1 is not installed, the port expander chip is powered by the supply on the Volumite. With it installed, it is powered by the onboard power supply. Either way will work if you use the standard configuration (Volumite for control). If you were using another I2C controller to control the relay board, you would most likely want J1 installed.


OK now I got it... d'oh!
But back to my previous question, J1 is a simple jumper wire or is it a part that never reached the kit I got? Think


Brian Donegan  
#7 Posted : Wednesday, February 25, 2015 9:10:24 PM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,841
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 134 time(s) in 129 post(s)
Yes, it is a simple jumper, so a resistor lead or piece of wire will work fine.
thanks 1 user thanked Brian Donegan for this useful post.
jaggel on 2/25/2015(UTC)
Rss Feed  Atom Feed
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.