Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages12>
Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
boudy  
#1 Posted : Monday, September 8, 2008 9:16:58 AM(UTC)
boudy

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 5/20/2008(UTC)
Posts: 24

Hi,

I'm wondering what is necessary to power the Sympatico, these details are not in the product description, nor is there a convenient listing of "companion" items as seen for some of the other products.

Thanks.
Brian Donegan  
#2 Posted : Monday, September 8, 2008 10:33:21 AM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,821
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 130 time(s) in 125 post(s)
You need a transformer with either dual 20-24V secondaries, or 40-48V center-tapped (20V-0V-20V to 24V-0V-24V).

For VA rating, you should ideally have 400VA per channel, though a single 650VA will probably cut it for two channels. We will not be selling these, at least for the time being (weight).

Avel Lindberg or Antek are both reasonable priced options.
boudy  
#3 Posted : Monday, September 8, 2008 11:03:43 AM(UTC)
boudy

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 5/20/2008(UTC)
Posts: 24

The Antek 8420 looks promising, it has four 20V secondaries and an 800VA rating. It costs $84.

Edited by user Monday, September 8, 2008 11:09:50 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Brian Donegan  
#4 Posted : Tuesday, September 9, 2008 1:00:25 PM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,821
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 130 time(s) in 125 post(s)
How about two 4222's. 22V secondaries, 400VA and $40 each.
neb001  
#5 Posted : Thursday, September 11, 2008 9:54:11 PM(UTC)
neb001

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 7/30/2007(UTC)
Posts: 31

I happen to have a 625VA dual 25v secondary transformer, would it fit the bill or is that voltage too much?
sureshm  
#6 Posted : Friday, September 12, 2008 5:27:51 PM(UTC)
sureshm

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 9/2/2008(UTC)
Posts: 53
Location: Sydney, Australia

Brian, do you suggest two 4222's because of the higher secondary voltage or because two physical transformers are better than one? Better heat dissipation with two transformers perhaps?

Also can the Sympatico be used with 4 ohm speakers or would the chipamp struggle with a 2 ohm load?
Russ White  
#7 Posted : Sunday, September 14, 2008 7:37:49 AM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,979
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
neb001 wrote:
I happen to have a 625VA dual 25v secondary transformer, would it fit the bill or is that voltage too much?


It should work just fine. It right at the upper limit of voltage, but it would be ok.

Cheers!
Russ
Russ White  
#8 Posted : Sunday, September 14, 2008 7:39:10 AM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,979
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
sureshm wrote:
Brian, do you suggest two 4222's because of the higher secondary voltage or because two physical transformers are better than one? Better heat dissipation with two transformers perhaps?

Also can the Sympatico be used with 4 ohm speakers or would the chipamp struggle with a 2 ohm load?


I use it with 4ohm speakers right now.

As long as you never ask for more than 10-12A or so from the amp any load is acceptable.

Cheers!
Russ
zonneveld  
#9 Posted : Monday, February 9, 2009 3:13:37 AM(UTC)
zonneveld

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/7/2008(UTC)
Posts: 47
Location: Netherlands

Hi,

While waiting for Sympatico and JT to be back in stock a few questions.

1. I can only get 300VA 2x22 transformers in the Netherlands (one 800VA would not fit in my
chassis) It will be used with 8 Ohm loads. Would 300VA be sufficient for one channel

2. Where can i get 400VA transformers( max. 2x24 V)

3. I would like to drive the sympatico straight from the Opus if there is no important reason
to use the IVY. (i will use the JT in my set up). Any good reason to use the IVY or will
the output from Opus be same quality?


Btw. Got Opus with MUX receiver up and running through SE amplifier for the time being and i am very pleased with the sound so far. Impressed with your kits and support!

Gerard
Russ White  
#10 Posted : Monday, February 9, 2009 10:05:02 AM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,979
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
1) Yes that should work just fine.

2) I am not sure. :) I get my transformers from Avel usually.

3) I would go ahead and try the Opus direct through JT first. Some people actually prefer it.

Having a fully balanced signal chain will pay dividends in the end. Good solid choices on your part.

Cheers!
Russ

zonneveld  
#11 Posted : Monday, February 9, 2009 11:12:35 AM(UTC)
zonneveld

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/7/2008(UTC)
Posts: 47
Location: Netherlands

Thanks for this info,
I will google Avel transformers or otherwise settle for 300VA/channel. I do like the idea of simultaniously having balanced and SE outputs (for driving sub woofers for example) but will leave the IVY out for the time being.

thanks again
zonneveld  
#12 Posted : Monday, February 9, 2009 12:14:51 PM(UTC)
zonneveld

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/7/2008(UTC)
Posts: 47
Location: Netherlands

Did some search on transformers and found a good affordable transformer with sufficient VA, but its secundaries are 25 V. I know this is at the upper limit and i am afraid the chips will run too hot at high volume and can only drive 8 Ohm loads or higher.

Will overdimensionized heatsinking take care of this and will the Sympatico still drive 4 Ohm loads safely?
Russ White  
#13 Posted : Monday, February 9, 2009 7:34:36 PM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,979
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
I would not worry. 25V will be ok. :)

The larger the heatsink the better, but no need to go too big. :)

Yes it will still drive 4ohms quite safely, just don't try to push it too hard. :)

Keep us posted!

Edited by user Monday, February 9, 2009 7:35:14 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

zonneveld  
#14 Posted : Tuesday, February 10, 2009 2:32:47 AM(UTC)
zonneveld

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/7/2008(UTC)
Posts: 47
Location: Netherlands

Thanks,
Patiently waiting for new stock now.

rhys h  
#15 Posted : Monday, March 2, 2009 12:27:00 PM(UTC)
rhys h

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 3/1/2009(UTC)
Posts: 12
Location: UK

Would a 650VA transformer with quad secondaries be okay, or should i really be looking for something bigger? This would be from Avel Lindberg and have a secondary voltage of 20VAC. This would obviously be to power a stereo set.
Brian Donegan  
#16 Posted : Monday, March 2, 2009 12:29:09 PM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,821
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 130 time(s) in 125 post(s)
That would be plenty.
rhys h  
#17 Posted : Monday, March 2, 2009 1:12:17 PM(UTC)
rhys h

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 3/1/2009(UTC)
Posts: 12
Location: UK

Also, would i get better bass responce by bumping up the filter caps to 22,000uf?
Russ White  
#18 Posted : Monday, March 2, 2009 3:08:05 PM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,979
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
Only if your really pushing it hard.
rhys h  
#19 Posted : Tuesday, March 3, 2009 2:05:29 AM(UTC)
rhys h

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 3/1/2009(UTC)
Posts: 12
Location: UK

Thanks for the feedback. Im now debaiting if i should actually use one transformer with quad secondaries, or two standard transformers and go the monoblock option in seperate chassis.
Russ White  
#20 Posted : Tuesday, March 3, 2009 8:27:13 PM(UTC)
Russ White

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,979
Location: Nashville, TN

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 89 time(s) in 83 post(s)
My office setup is two Sympatico in a single case but with two trafos. So its basically two monoblocks in a single case. This works very well. The trafos are 650VA 24V but they are overkill. I just had them on hand so I used them. Could easily do 400VA.
Rss Feed  Atom Feed
Users browsing this topic
2 Pages12>
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.