Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login


Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
Jordo  
#1 Posted : Sunday, January 25, 2015 6:24:06 PM(UTC)
Jordo

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/7/2011(UTC)
Posts: 465
Location: Amsterdam

Thanks: 31 times
Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 3 post(s)
Hi all,

Just as said; It's way too quiet here :P

This winter I decided to push trough some improvements to my set.

To start with I had a Placid HD BP which was not adjusting very fine. Desoldering of the Potmeters is not really my hobby and it was not soldered that perfect so I decided to replace it for a new one.
But Russ and Brian had decided to come up with a new version and I didn't noticed untill I received the PSU. So to keep my Dual Mono setup in balance I had to order a second one :)

Much of the improvements I'd carry trough concerned the Shielding and some grounding.
I already had set some Mu-metal walls around the DAC and IVY's covered with Mu-Copper, but I still left a gap of 1cm for ventilation. This is solved now with special Honeycomb material.
At the Hypex I also managed to cover the lower vents with this Honeycomb. The DAC is too crowded to perform this improvement so I left that out.
Ultimate test for me was to put down my mobile phone and see if it would loose it's connection, but it didn't. That seems to be one bridge too far but it must do something good at some lower frequencies since the biggest gap is less than one mm.

I also separated the AC and DC grounds some more.
At the Hypex I made extra improvements to the shield and the Shield of the wiring.

UserPostedImage

UserPostedImage

UserPostedImage

UserPostedImage

UserPostedImage

Momentarily I'm laying my last hands on the Teleporter/ Wavio chassis. I will post that one later :)

And also nice to mention is that I performed a Filter Upgrade of my Speakers. That is really a significant improvement!! :D

Cheers!

Jordo

Edited by moderator Monday, January 26, 2015 3:37:01 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

File Attachment(s):
Hypex honeycomb.jpg (293kb) downloaded 217 time(s).
DAC Vents.jpg (295kb) downloaded 210 time(s).
Jordo attached the following image(s):
DAC honeycomb.jpg (100kb) downloaded 250 time(s).
Hypex no shield.jpg (248kb) downloaded 243 time(s).
Hypex shield.jpg (255kb) downloaded 243 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
Jordo  
#2 Posted : Monday, January 26, 2015 3:11:33 PM(UTC)
Jordo

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/7/2011(UTC)
Posts: 465
Location: Amsterdam

Thanks: 31 times
Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 3 post(s)
More is coming...

UserPostedImage

UserPostedImage

UserPostedImage

Edited by moderator Monday, January 26, 2015 3:38:22 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Jordo attached the following image(s):
TPA.jpg (192kb) downloaded 207 time(s).
TPA Front.jpg (214kb) downloaded 209 time(s).
TPA Front 2.jpg (154kb) downloaded 206 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
Jordo  
#3 Posted : Monday, January 26, 2015 3:46:06 PM(UTC)
Jordo

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/7/2011(UTC)
Posts: 465
Location: Amsterdam

Thanks: 31 times
Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 3 post(s)
And last but not leas:

The Waveio/ Teleporter

The WavIO is isolate from the casing.
Also the Teleporter and the PSU of the WaveIO are floating. Their ground is connected to the PC.

Due to some earlier planning and changes I find the setup a bit klumpsy but that's what it is.

I later added an extra Placid and since I found the V2.1 more suitable for the higher demands of the waveIO the feedlines got crossed a bit.

I also had planned more cooler initially for the V1.0 but left them out when he came to power the Teleporter.
So with the spare hole I created I installed the ground line to the backplate.

All the interfaces of the casing have been sanded to remove the anodized layer. A conducting foam is interconnecting the casing. But for the lower plate it has been done with the ground line.

At this moment I only have one issue to think about ad that is wether or not to connect the other cases to earth.
And if yes how? I don't want the PC to interfear... :)

Cheers!

Jordo

Edited by user Monday, January 26, 2015 3:57:24 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Jordo attached the following image(s):
Teleporter TPA2.jpg (183kb) downloaded 56 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
Brian Donegan  
#4 Posted : Monday, January 26, 2015 4:59:28 PM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,865
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 138 time(s) in 133 post(s)
You should ALWAYS connect the case to mains earth (ground). Always.

Whether you connect signal ground to the chassis is the only question.
Jordo  
#5 Posted : Monday, January 26, 2015 5:24:23 PM(UTC)
Jordo

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/7/2011(UTC)
Posts: 465
Location: Amsterdam

Thanks: 31 times
Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 3 post(s)
Ok I will!

Does your boards lay any signal grounds to the chassis ground or PCB studs?

PS:
Not everyone does have ground to earth in their homes

Edited by user Monday, January 26, 2015 5:29:49 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Brian Donegan  
#6 Posted : Monday, January 26, 2015 6:58:04 PM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,865
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 138 time(s) in 133 post(s)
Quote:
Does your boards lay any signal grounds to the chassis ground or PCB studs?


No, they are all isolated so the user can control ground connections.
Jordo  
#7 Posted : Monday, January 26, 2015 7:51:36 PM(UTC)
Jordo

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/7/2011(UTC)
Posts: 465
Location: Amsterdam

Thanks: 31 times
Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 3 post(s)
Check!

So I can conclude that I do not have any grounds connected to earth :)

Thx!

Jordo
Stunts  
#8 Posted : Tuesday, January 27, 2015 7:53:42 AM(UTC)
Stunts

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 11/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 24
Netherlands
Location: Netherlands

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jordo Go to Quoted Post
Check!

So I can conclude that I do not have any grounds connected to earth :)

Thx!

Jordo


Jordo you can check this of course by measuring resistance from any gnd point to the chassis.
Jordo  
#9 Posted : Tuesday, January 27, 2015 2:49:19 PM(UTC)
Jordo

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 12/7/2011(UTC)
Posts: 465
Location: Amsterdam

Thanks: 31 times
Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 3 post(s)
Hi Stunts,

Thanks for your reply.
I've done the measurements and indeed non of them is connected to the ground plain.

Everything is connected to earth now so I'm safe but more important, my devices too :).

The Hypex amplifier wasn't connectet to earth at all. he plastic housing of the power connector prevented this. So I mounted a groundwire from the chassis to the connector.

I've got a bit confused since there are so many opinions concerning grounding but I'm convinced now this is the best way. Especially since I'm aware that the signal grounds are not connected to the earth ground.

But I had to reconsider my ground plan because few months ago my Teleporter died and I believe it was because of a static discharge.

Thanks again all!

Jordo

Edited by user Tuesday, January 27, 2015 3:00:05 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Rss Feed  Atom Feed
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.