Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login


Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
stewart  
#1 Posted : Friday, July 22, 2011 1:20:02 PM(UTC)
stewart

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 11/10/2008(UTC)
Posts: 137
Location: New York City

Thanks: 1 times
I got the BII hooked up and everything sounds great. However when I connect the volumite and turn it to mute the BII sound bounces between fully muted and no attenuation. When the volumite is turned all the way up (no attenuation) the sound remains constant - halfway on the volumite causes the sound to bounce back between half attenuation and full volume.

I'm only using crimp terminals on the I2C header pins for the time being so I could try something that gives better contact but I'm fairly sure the contact is good. The "bouncing" sound is at a constant interval so doesn't seem to be from wires losing contact.
Brian Donegan  
#2 Posted : Friday, July 22, 2011 1:24:03 PM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,865
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 138 time(s) in 133 post(s)
Remove the firmware chip from the BII. It is doing battle with the Volumite.
stewart  
#3 Posted : Friday, July 22, 2011 2:08:33 PM(UTC)
stewart

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 11/10/2008(UTC)
Posts: 137
Location: New York City

Thanks: 1 times
I removed the BII firmware chip however now it acts as if there's no volumite at all. There's no more volume bouncing but the volumite doesn't respond.
Brian Donegan  
#4 Posted : Friday, July 22, 2011 2:16:09 PM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administration, Customer
Joined: 10/24/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,865
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 138 time(s) in 133 post(s)
Are you powering the Volumite from the Buffalo's I2C header?
stewart  
#5 Posted : Friday, July 22, 2011 2:32:26 PM(UTC)
stewart

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 11/10/2008(UTC)
Posts: 137
Location: New York City

Thanks: 1 times
Yes, I installed the jumper instead of the regulator on the volumite.
avr300  
#6 Posted : Friday, July 22, 2011 2:41:26 PM(UTC)
avr300

Rank: Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 6/17/2008(UTC)
Posts: 921
Denmark

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 70 time(s) in 69 post(s)
Have you connected all 4 wires between Vol. and Buf ?
Audiblesoundwave  
#7 Posted : Friday, July 22, 2011 3:07:10 PM(UTC)
Audiblesoundwave

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 8/3/2010(UTC)
Posts: 68
United States
Location: S.F. Bay Area, CA

A picture would be good if the problem still exists!

Good luck,
Milton
stewart  
#8 Posted : Friday, July 22, 2011 4:38:23 PM(UTC)
stewart

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 11/10/2008(UTC)
Posts: 137
Location: New York City

Thanks: 1 times
Pics below. I've triple checked the volumite lines VCC --> DVCC, GND --> GND, SDA --> SDA, SCL --> SCL

Thank you all for the help.
stewart attached the following image(s):
IMG_20110722_193333.jpg (67kb) downloaded 100 time(s).
IMG_20110722_193351.jpg (52kb) downloaded 101 time(s).
IMG_20110722_193404.jpg (57kb) downloaded 99 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
Audiblesoundwave  
#9 Posted : Saturday, July 23, 2011 10:34:09 AM(UTC)
Audiblesoundwave

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 8/3/2010(UTC)
Posts: 68
United States
Location: S.F. Bay Area, CA

Well, the last two photos are bit difficult to see.

Anyhow, some suggestions:

1. Measure the voltage at Volumite's VCC to see it is getting the proper voltage.
2. Remove the firmware chip and re-install it to ensure the proper contacts. By the way, this is the firmware chip for the Volumite (stereo version) not the BII firmware chip, right? Just to double check!
3. Measure the Volumite switch's resistance to see the results!

Good luck and hope this helps a bit,
Milton
stewart  
#10 Posted : Saturday, July 23, 2011 1:48:01 PM(UTC)
stewart

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 11/10/2008(UTC)
Posts: 137
Location: New York City

Thanks: 1 times
And thank you again, mysteriously after I installed the tridents the volumite is working perfectly now.
Audiblesoundwave  
#11 Posted : Saturday, July 23, 2011 1:58:29 PM(UTC)
Audiblesoundwave

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Member
Joined: 8/3/2010(UTC)
Posts: 68
United States
Location: S.F. Bay Area, CA

Wonderful! May be there wasn't enough 'juice'!

Enjoy it. I love my B-II with the Ivy-III. I am waiting for the new version of the mux.

Milton
Rss Feed  Atom Feed
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.