Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

2 Pages12>
Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
johnny555  
#1 Posted : Thursday, November 10, 2011 7:29:07 PM(UTC)
johnny555

Groups: Member

Howdey Gents,

I am a bit of a newbie hence my question, which is: When building the new 4 input source selector for the Buffalo III there are resistors options for TTL or ABSU, where do these go? as the PCB is already populated fully.

Can a diagram be supplied ref all this (also to include the rotary switch PCB options for illuminating the LEDS as I have read it- but don’t fully understand it as yet (and can’t proceed till I do !)Boo hoo!

cheers
Johnny
Brian Donegan  
#2 Posted : Friday, November 11, 2011 5:22:52 AM(UTC)
Brian Donegan

Groups: Administration, Customer

Was thanked: 141 time(s) in 134 post(s)
R1-R4 on the S/PDIF4 board are the termination resistors for the inputs. The kit now comes with three sets of resistors for these positions: 75R for consumer-level S/PDIF (standard), 110R for AES/EBU, and 10K for TTL-level S/PDIF.

Basically, use the correct termination resistor for each position, depending on which type of input you want it to accept.

The switch board connects to positions 1-4 of the I/O header on the Buffalo-III. Use the same four positions on the switch board (observe the orientation marks). The correct four positions on the switch board actually have a box drawn around them in the silk. (SEE FIRST PICTURE)

The LEDs can either be mounted directly on the switch board, or remotely. Mounting on the switch board allows you to have them right next to your source-selection knob on your front panel. Remote mounting let's you put them anywhere you want. No additional wiring is required for the LEDs.

Edited by user Friday, November 11, 2011 5:42:18 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Brian Donegan attached the following image(s):
switch_board_orientation.JPG (165kb) downloaded 1,034 time(s).