Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
Crumboo  
#1 Posted : Friday, December 14, 2012 11:05:49 PM(UTC)
Crumboo

Groups: Member

Hi!

I’m planning to realize a project I have been thinking about some time now and would need some advice on this. I am kind of new to all this so I'm grateful for all comments!

For my speaker setup I'd like active crossover (FIR) so my plan is to use a computer based convolution (BruteFIR or perhaps VST convolver). Therefore I also need a preamp and multichannel DAC. My plan is to use Buffalo III with 4 IVY's. I would like several digital inputs: coax, balanced EBU, toslink and I2S (in order to connect a Philips CDpro transport). As an interface to the computer I’ve been thinking about the USBStreamer from miniDSP (actually, I wanted to do the processing without using an external computer but I haven’t found a good way of doing this...do anyone have suggestions?). I also want a display for showing information about volume and selected input and a microprocessor (PIC) for input selection. See the image below:

UserPostedImage

I have a few questions:

1. Does it make sense??
  2. Can one Placid HD be used for powering everything (except the IVY:s)? I need 5V for the PIC pocessor (don’t now about the current it uses). The USBStreamer can run om 5V also and need about 300 mA
  3. Do I need to put a Metronome somewhere in the signal chain? I think I’ve read somewhere that the I2S output from CDPro isn’t compatible with the DAC?
  4. The USBStreamer works as a I2S master device only. Would this cause any problem?
  5. Any other comments/suggestions for this project?

Best regards,

Mattias

Edited by user Saturday, December 15, 2012 8:45:25 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Better image size

gwikse  
#2 Posted : Saturday, December 15, 2012 11:18:57 AM(UTC)
gwikse

Was thanked: 17 time(s) in 17 post(s)
Looks to me like a well thought out system.