Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
thegeek  
#1 Posted : Sunday, June 3, 2007 4:18:51 PM(UTC)
thegeek

Groups: Member

Hi.

First of all I'd like to warn you that I'm a noob when it comes to electronics and as such some of the following questions may be a little (to very) noobish;P

I just recently finished building a kookaburra+myref revC, I've had no problems and as far as I can tell it's working perfectly.
So far I've only been able to test the amp with a pair of old and rather bad speakers from a philips stereo (cheap compact unit with 3cd changer++:P).

To remedy this I'm going to buy a pair of floorstanding speakers (probably 3-way), I've been looking at the new b&w 600-series (683 and 684, the 683 has fst midrange..) and Dali Ikon 6(danish speakers).
The b&w's are 8ohm, 90db spl (specs) and I'm wondering if the amp will be able to drive these or similar speakers?.
I realize the official specifications rarely present the full picture, and that speakers can be hard to drive due to impedance dips(hope that is the correct term:P), however just a general "is it worth it to try" would be nice:)

The amp I built uses a 300va 2x28V toroid (measured to 27Vac when connected to amp). The kookaburra uses the toroid you offer and lm4562 opamps.
Audio ground is completely seperated from power ground and ac ground. The only ground besides connections between kookaburra and the myrefs is chassis connected to ac ground. Hum is inaudible and the only noise is from the source (no noise when inputs shorted).
The amp does not get very warm, but I use pretty large heatsinks(info).