Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
markus_b  
#1 Posted : Sunday, May 8, 2011 5:24:20 PM(UTC)
markus_b

Groups: Member

Hello everybody,

I am new to DIY audio (but I have an embedded systems background). I have some general questions about putting
Twisted Pear components together. I already took a look this PDF with some basics that was posted by one of the forum's users but it didn't help me much as it is focussed only on BuffaloII DAC based setups. I would appreciate if someone could give me a
starting point for my DAC/preamp setup which should fulfill following requirements:

Must:
- At least one optical and coxial input to chose from
- Possibility to insert an MCU board (BeagleBoard) into the signal chain for audio processing via I2S intefaces
- Not too much space requirement (my case has only 8x8" space available). Are there any heat/noise issues with stacking Twisted Pear boards by a distance of ~1-2"
- Unbalanced RCA output (since my current equipment is not balanced)
- A good value/cost/space ratio (e.g., Opus vs. BuffaloII?, output stages vs. no output stages?, dual mono vs. stereo DAC?)

Nice to have:
- 2 optical and 2 coxial inputs to chose from
- SPDIF output of the processed I2S data

Controlling the components will be done by the BeagleBoard and another ATMega MCU. So there is no need for other control components.
I am pretty unsure about the power supplies and also the output stages. How many transformers/power supplies do I need? Would it be possible to drive the BeagleBoard with a shared power supply together with the other digial audio boards (it requires 5V at a max. current of 1.6A) Do I need an output stage before/after the Ballsie Lite module?