Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
squalor  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, February 6, 2007 9:10:55 AM(UTC)
squalor

Groups: Customer

*** and people like me.
After a year of sitting on a shelf I have finaly populated these My_Ref boards. It is my first time to solder components to a circuit board. Many folks on "the thread" asked about a build guide. Maybe this thread can help convince those people who have NO experience that they really can build their own amplifier. I did it and I ooze n00b sauce.
First I had to learn to solder. I googled and found becoup sites teaching the task including Nelson Pass' site and this site with videos. Next, I went to radio shack and got a 25watt iron, .032 rosin core solder, a tiny can of Tip Cleaner and Tinner and a roll of DeSoldering wick. All that was less than $25.00usd Oh yea, I also got a 50 pack of diodes and a Small project PC board so I could practice soldering new component lead to clean copper traces.
I began practicing and immediatly realized the importance of good lighting. I had one of those workpiece holders with the two aligator clips and magnifying glass. I did not find the clips handy for holding the board and looking through the magnifying glass was awkward. Using the magnifying glass to focus the light from a overhead desk lamp on the solder joint the way you would use it to burn a leaf in the sunlight DID work well. That and some reading glasses really helped me see what I was doing. Getting this close to the work, I then realized the importance of ventilation. Flux stinks. With the ceiling fan on high I was producing passable solder joints on the practice board in no time. Wife checks them with her coke bottle glasses off and sez, "Hmm, you may pull this off after all". HA, oh she of little faith.
squalor  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, February 6, 2007 7:59:53 PM(UTC)
squalor